Coming home

So the first thing I saw when I got off the plane from almost a full 24 hours worth of travelling, was this bathroom sign. You know, I never thought I’d be so relieved to see French and Spanish before. I guess after studying Korean for so long it’s nice to see languages I’m a little more familiar with. Of course the Chinese part can be found in both Korea and America…You know, it makes you wonder, maybe I should be studying Chinese…Image

Anyway, the second thing I noticed was how religious the South is compared to Korea. I found this revelation funny actually. I had always been aware that the South had a reputation for being more religious than other places. However, being born and raised in Louisiana (aka The South), I really had nothing to compare it to when it comes to religiousness. Before I left Korea I even thought for a moment that they were similar in their religious zeal. I mean, I’ve been invited to church barbecues back home and in Korea, so that’s pretty much the same right? Wrong.

The first sign was when I was greeted by my parent’s copy of James Earl Jones reads the bible right next to the kitchen TV.Image

That wasn’t enough to convince me though. The second sign was at wal-mart when I found myself with the option of which Jesus/Catholic Saint candle to buy for the kitchen table.Image

The candles made me giggle, that is until I got home and found one actually sitting on my kitchen table. I’ll give you three guesses which one. Need a hint?Image

At this point I thought, oh that’s just my parents surely…and wal-mart micromarketing. The final push for me though was the gigantic cross in front of one of the churches by the main highway in my city (picture not included, but seriously it’s probably visible from space.)

 

The last thing I noticed pretty quickly is how little presence Korea has in Louisiana. There isn’t a single Korean restaurant in our state capital, and only a small Asian grocery store to sell any Korean products. With this in mind I figured I’d try my hand at Whole Food Market, where out multiple shelves of food products from many different countries. This is the Korean food presence in this “multicultural store.” 

Image

ImageImageI think I’ve made my point. 

 

 

6 thoughts on “Coming home

  1. Frank Nugent (jobsucks) says:

    Welcome home Chelsea.
    That was a funny observation.
    I look forward to your next YouTube video.

    Frank Nugent
    (jobsucks)

  2. Paul says:

    It’s a bit disappointing that there’s not much of a Korean presence in Louisiana. I’ve been to other Southern cities (Dallas, Houston, Atlanta) and they all have thriving Koreatowns.

Leave a Reply

